Anniversary and Loser Food

February 3, 2009

I have to admit, this is going to be a half-hearted edition of cooking for losers. I’ve got a headache, I’m kind of tired, and I’m kind of crabby. We’re not even eating this loser dish tonight, we ate it last Thursday night. Now, it’s half-hearted only because I’m going to estimate the amounts and I’m not going to go through the work of exacting the nutritional information. I am wholly confident that it fits within the guidelines and I know from experience that the dish is delicious. I would post what we’re eating tonight but I haven’t decided yet. So, the recipe with a finished product photo is below. The dish is SUPER easy—SUPER SUPER easy and full of flavor. Simple Sauteed Chicken and Spinach Parm Rice. So good. Before I give you that recipe – here are some pics from our festivus anniversary celebration! Five years! I can’t believe it. We were really blessed to spend the weekend at my Aunt Jill’s cabin – Mary Paul’s Morning Mist Cottage – a place dedicated to my grandmother. It is an AMAZING place. Tucked in the woods beside a creek with a big stacked fireplace and nice hot tub. It’s got two bedrooms with huge, snuggly beds, a living room full of overstuffed furniture, a pool table, cable, tons of movies, a big kitchen and adorable towns just down the road. We wished we could stay a week which is what we did for the first weekend of our honeymoon. It was very romantic to be back there.

A surprise from James – flowers and fun chocolate

white chocolate coconut, dark chocolate with chili, and milk chocolate with sea salt and smoked almonds

5th-anniversary-008

James chowing on one of the four pieces of cheesecake I picked up before the trip – a friend had given us a gift card and it just had to be used up! Ok, maybe not all at once but whatever.

5th-anniversary-014

Making a little breakfast.

5th-anniversary-016

OK, so it was a big breakfast.

5th-anniversary-018

Homemade pop tarts. Drool is appropriate.

5th-anniversary-021

We heart each other. He hearts me even with no makeup.

5th-anniversary-023

Feet in front of the fire.

5th-anniversary-026

We went to downtown Ellijay and James wanted a picture with the bear.

5th-anniversary-028

James found this and was pretty proud of himself.

5th-anniversary-031

More cheesecake.

5th-anniversary-041

James caught me reading the guestbook where I wrote some pretty

embarrassing and gushing things on our honeymoon and our first anniversary.

5th-anniversary-047

OK, we have a ton more pictures but I’ll make myself stop. We had such a great time!

Here’s the Loser recipe:

5th-anniversary-001

Ingredients:

1 package chicken cutlets

olive oil

salt

pepper

1 cup dry rice cooked according to package instructions – we used brown rice

1/2 bag of spinach chopped up into bite sized pieces

1 palmful of shredded parmesan cheese or you can use the grated stuff

1 clove of garlic, minced – we did add one more clove but don’t do that unless you really like garlic like we do – it doesn’t get cooked so it’s pretty strong.

1. Heat some oil in a pan over medium heat. Sprinkle the chicken with a good dose of salt and pepper. Lay the cutlets flat in the pan. Cook three to four minutes on each side. Done.

2. Stir together the hot rice, spinach, garlic, a dash of salt, and a drizzle of olive oil. Give that a taste and adjust the seasonings. Done.

Enjoy. It’s probably in the 300-400 range. One day I’ll do the math for ya.

Leave a Reply

