The Verdict – Ratatouille and Other News

January 29, 2009

misc-0051I’ve made Ratatouille several times but this was by far the best. I LOVED the tofu in it. The great thing about tofu is that it’s a flavor sponge. Knowing this, instead of just layering it raw with the veggies, I dredged it in the tomato sauce first. Since my 9″ x 12″ pan was full of granola I had to use a smaller pan. This meant that instead of having just one layer of veg and tofu, I had to layer vertically. So, I went sauce, onions, tomatoed tofu, and then scalloped zucchini, squash, and tomatoes. I added all the optional stuff. When it finished baking we actually ended up letting it sit for about 45 mins since we weren’t quite hungry. I think it made the flavors come together even more. The only thing I would change is more evenly and thinly slicing the tofu. Some of the slices were a little thick so they didn’t absorb as much flavor.

In other news, our 5th anniversary is this Saturday – I can’t believe it. Five years. We’re really blessed, we’re going to be going to my Aunt’s cabin in Ellijay, GA for the weekend. It is the same place we spent the first week of our honeymoon. We’re hoping to take a longer vacation to celebrate later on in the spring but this is going to be great! I’m busy today running errands and getting some homework done so we can enjoy as much of the weekend as possible.

Also, in the news, I still don’t have a job. If you think of me, say a little prayer.

I keep forgetting to post my Devil’s Food Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting recipe but I promise it’s coming soon.

Leave a Reply

