May I Recommend the Daily Soup?

September 20, 2008

It’s almost fall and the weather has been slightly cooler this week – it’s been really nice. When the weather even gets a little bit cool I must make soup. Soup is one of my favorite things to make. Soup is pretty easy to make, tasty, and always impressive. You might not think so but people are usually impressed when you can make an interesting soup that’s filling enough to be an entree.

When James and I first got married I ordered a whole bunch of cookbooks from amazon.com. I didn’t order practical stuff. I ordered stuff like “Martha Stewart’s Hors d’ Oeuvres Handbook” and “101 Salsas.” I didn’t even know how to cook rice yet so these things turned out to be pretty useless to me.

Once I learned to cook I turned back to one of them. The Daily Soup Cookbook. There’s this soup franchise in the northeast called Daily Soup and this cookbook is from those stores. The book has a great intro section all about how to make soup great. After that there are over 200 recipes from Chicken Matzoh Ball (with noodle variation) to Thai Chicken with Ginger and Coconut and every single thing in between. Some of our favorites have been Greek Tomato with Trahana Pasta (we use orzo), Grilled Vegetables with Feta Cheese, and – one we tried for the first time this week – Poblano Corn Chowder. Now, you’ve got to be recipe savvy. Unless you’ve got a ton of money you’ll probably cut one or two ingredients from some recipes. For example, a lot of recipes call for a parmesan cheese rind. I know this adds tons of flavor but it’s generally not in the budget and my soup tastes delicious without it.

One of the best things about this cookbook is how much soup the recipes make. Even when we halve the recipes (which we always do) we’ve got enough soup for us to get 4-5 meals out of it. The soup is so good you’re reaching for the leftovers at every meal – not to mention soup gets better as the flavors meld.

As the weather gets colder – especially for my Denver friends – grab this cookbook, a little bit of courage (don’t worry, I know making soup can be scary), and enjoy!

By the way, I updated my recipe page – I added my favorite granola recipe – yum!

One Response to “May I Recommend the Daily Soup?”

  1. ashley said

    i’ll have to look into this book,i loooove soups!

Leave a Reply

