Oops Again!

June 8, 2008

A friend of mine brought it to my attention that I forgot to put how much flour goes into the pizza dough on the recipe page. That would make for a terrible dough. It’s on there now. Sorry!

Can I just tell you, I really love to cook. I especially like to bake. I just get so excited, especially when I’m baking for other people. I think I’ve really underestimated how much I love it. It’s really almost an obsession. For example, on May 30th James and I went to a rehearsal dinner for his cousin’s wedding. At the dinner they had Key Lime Pie cupcakes from this place called Truelove Bakery in Gainesville, Georgia. They were almost the most delicious thing I have ever tasted. I ate two. They were unbelievable. Everyday since that night I have thought about how I could recreate the recipe, particularly the frosting. The cake was super moist and so I’ve been looking for dense lemon cake recipes that could be converted to lime. I’m thinking that a cream cheese, butter, confectioner’s sugar, and lime juice frosting is my best bet. The frosting was really light but had a little grit to it so I’m thinking I can whip the cream cheese and butter super light and then add a whole bunch of sugar. We’ll see. My point is that it has been on my mind for 15 days now. I am a woman possessed.

The sad thing about my passion for baking is that I rarely get to do it. I mean, really, if I even try to recreate this recipe, what are James and I going to do with 24 cupcakes. (Probably even more than that, assuming the first recipe is a little or a lot off.) I’ve thought about selling them places but that’s impractical and really a smidgen illegal.

My cooking obsession goes further. The reason I know it’s illegal is because I am currently reading Paula Deen’s Memoirs, “It Ain’t All About the Cookin.” You see, I even love reading about people that cook. This is the first time I’ve read a non-fiction one but I’m really liking it. I usually read fiction books that involve someone who cooks or bakes or something like that. I just love it! One that I recently finished is “Deep Dish” by Mary Kay Andrews. It’s adorable. Really it marries my two favorite settings for a novel – a kitchen and the south. I love fiction set in the south but that’s another blog.

Another sign that I’ve got a problem is the number of cooking DVDs that are on our Netflix list. I just finished watching “Martha’s Baking Favorites.” Almost every morning after James went to work I turned off the news and put in a little Martha. (Now, Martha is not my favorite to watch. She’s a little pretentious for my taste but her recipes are usually good.) I watched Martha bake cakes and make cookies. I got some pretty good ideas too. If only we had cable, I’d watch the Food Network all the time.

Lately I’ve been thinking, “Forget seminary.” Maybe while James goes to seminary I’ll just up and go to cooking school. It’s not going to happen but I wish it would. Maybe the Lord will let me do both. Not cooking school but maybe I’ll get to be a part of a ministry one day that lets me bake to my heart’s content. One idea is for James and I to open a bakery and to bring in single college-age students to live together for one year to be discipled and run a bakery. Why not, right? In the mean time, I’m going to keep looking for excuses to bake. I just love it so much!

One Response to “Oops Again!”

Leave a Reply

