Prayer.

May 3, 2008

In case you’re wondering, I’m going to be just as vague in this blog as the last one. I’m sorry if you’re wanting to know the details, I don’t blame you but I guess I’m just trying to protect the innocent. Or the not so innocent, whatever. I guess I’m just trying to say that it’s not important for me to divulge the situation to get my point across.

Most of my readers know what’s going on anyway. It’s amazing – tragedy has made my stats jump like crazy. It tells me that we’re all wanting to see how others are coping. It’s kind of neat actually. I’m sure my fellow bloggers who are hurting have had a jump in readers too, I know I’ve been looking.

Anyhow, I wanted to write a little bit about prayer. Since we moved to Birmingham, my prayer life hasn’t been the same. It’s been almost four years since we left Philly. Prayer was a much bigger part of my life there. Specifically, I prayed on my knees almost daily. Ok, it’s been about five years since I’ve done that, since I was an FYM in Philly. Anyhow, somewhere along the way, it stopped being a part of my life. Don’t get me wrong, prayer is a part of my life, but not like it used to be. As an FYM I used to spend a long time on my knees in earnest prayer for people multiple times a week. I loved it. I don’t know why I stopped but I did.

I think a part of it is that my theology has changed as I’ve been at Southeastern. It’s all been for the better. I know why I believe things more now than ever. But, a part of a change in theology is a change in prayer. I hope that makes sense. I say that because I’ve recently realized that my adjusted theology isn’t inconsistent with being on my knees before God.

These past couple of days I’ve been brought to my knees. It has been so good. I remember how good it feels to know that God hears me in my sorrow. It’s been good to experience deep prayer for someone other than myself. I don’t know if you’re familiar with intercessory prayer. The way it’s been explained to me is when you pray almost from the perspective of the person you’re praying for. It’s unusual but it’s really neat. On Thursday morning I spent a lot of time in prayer on my knees. I spent time weeping before the Lord in prayer for my brothers and sisters in Christ who are hurting. (I hope you don’t read this as boasting. That’s not my intention at all. This is just one of the ways I’m coping.) When I left that time, I felt so refreshed.

As I’ve been thinking about things, I’m again amazed at who God is. He hears our prayers. He enjoys our interaction with him. These things are so basic to my faith but I easily forget them, or at least I forget how incredible they are. As believers, we can interact with God. How amazing.

I’m rambling, I know. Let me just end with this. During my prayer time on Thursday I realized that I had lost hope for the situation. I had lost the faith that God could break through the darkness. I really just confessed it to him and started to pray for what I believed to be a miracle. As I met with people on Thursday I realized that they were experiencing the same thing and were trying to pray hopeful prayers. On Friday morning, that miracle happened. There is still a long road ahead but it is clear that Jesus is powerful and mighty. He is slow to anger and quick to love. Please continue to pray faithful prayers. God can and will be glorified. While things will never be restored to the way they were I know God is a redeemer and that is good news.

One Response to “Prayer.”

  1. Magen said

    We serve a MIGHTY GOD!!

Leave a Reply

