I am also…

May 1, 2008

disappointed, shocked, angry, and very very sad.

I’m taking a cue from Samantha on this one. I share some similar feelings. I keep trying to write things but the words are coming out jumbled. Life is so hard. People have unbelievable power to hurt one another. Sometimes I don’t know if the joy we can bring each other really makes up for it. I know it does, but in moments like these I have my doubts. Right now I’m also amazed at the power that sin can have over us. Our minds can convince us that things that we once thought were unacceptable are now acceptable for us. The sin in our lives and our desire for sinful things can consume us to the point that we no longer see it how it is.

Mostly I’m sad. If you don’t know what I’m referring to, you’re probably better for it. Suffice it to say, people are fallen and sin is very real. Today I’ve been reminded that none of us are beyond sin. We never get to that point where we can say we’re safe and we won’t do certain things. I’m reminded that it is not me that has any power over sin but the Spirit of God in me. I’m reminded of how much we all need Jesus. We need him in every moment.

Life is pretty surreal right now. I’m not quite sure what to say. I know I haven’t said anything comforting but I hope that some of y’all that I know are hurting right now are at least comforted to know that there are others suffering with you. A strange kind of comfort, but a real one.

Jesus is still Lord. We still have victory in him. He is still a redeemer. It’s good to remember.

3 Responses to “I am also…”

  1. katy h. said

    i understand your feelings…i think anyone who knows the situation does as well…God shines brightest when things are so bleak and dark…He is an amazing God!!
    ~katy h.

  2. d$ said

    Unsure of the situation… I’m sure if Steph doesn’t know, she will when you guys see each other. Anyway, we miss you guys, and hope that whatever is going on, it doesnt hurt you too much…

  3. Trish said

    I don’t know the situation at all (and I must admit I am very curious), but I am praying for you…

Leave a Reply

