Feelin’ Good

April 2, 2008

Man, can I just tell you, I have been in the best mood the past few days. I know a couple of days isn’t really that great of a streak but I’m telling you – a really good mood. Do you know what I think it is? Peace. I think I’m experiencing peace.

I feel relaxed and I don’t feel stressed. I’m not worried about school or my grades. I don’t feel guilty for watching a few episodes of The Office or watching a little of Martha’s cupcake week (which I missed today – poo.)

I had people over to our apartment two days this week. Sure, maybe this doesn’t seem like a big deal to you but it is to me. I had people in my home and I liked it!

James and I have been having a lot of fun together and that’s always great.

Overall, I’m just enjoying things a little more. I think it’s got to be peace. When there is unrest in my heart it has to make it difficult for me to just sit back and enjoy the ride.

Do you know why I feel this peace? Because James and I have made a decision about our future. James and I both are going to go to Denver Seminary together. We’re both going to be full time at the same time. I don’t know how we’re going to do it. James went away this weekend to do some thinking about his life and some listening to the Lord. He really feels God’s direction toward us both going to school. For James, this is a lot of sacrifice. He’s 27 and already working on an engineering career. This is a move in an illogical direction. He’s really having to give up living by the world’s standards. I’m really proud of him and really think it’s the right decision. He came back from his trip saying that if this is what the Lord wants, he’s going to have to provide.

It’s going to be hard. It’s going to be so hard. Money! Oh, it’s going to cost so much money. But I’m excited. It feels like an adventure we’re preparing to take together.

We’re not sure about the details. We haven’t nailed down majors and we’re not even sure when we’re going to go. The tentative plan is Fall ’09 but it might be sooner or it might be later. There are so many things to think about. There’s going to be a lot for me to write about on this journey.

After school, we’re both thinking missions. We think we even know where but we’re still praying on that one. (And, really, we’re still praying on the school thing. God could still close the door. We both know we’ve heard him wrong before but this does just “feel” so right.) Sure, we could head to the mission field right now. We really could. We both just really have it on our heart to get as equipped as possible, specifically for what we’re planning on doing but I’ll write more about all that later.

So, yeah, feeling pretty peaceful. I hope it doesn’t keep me from wanting to do anything to do with school. We’ll see if I’m still feelin’ good after a big fat study day tomorrow.

Oh, yeah…I added a new recipe. It’s super delicious. Check it out!

5 Responses to “Feelin’ Good”

  1. samantha said

    Yay for Denver Seminary!! Ryan and I are moving out there in May to attend!!!!! 🙂

  2. Craig Blomberg said

    Congratulations! I’ll look forward on meeting both of you when you move to Denver. What school are you attending now? Oh, about cats–not a good idea to wait to have babies until you love cats consistently–they are much harder to love than babies! 🙂

  3. jess said

    I’m at Southeastern Bible College and really love it. That’s good to know about the cats – our cat is really hard to love sometimes!

  4. Helene Dallaire said

    I join with Craig Blomberg in saying Congratulations! You will find Denver Seminary to be a wonderful place to prepare for ministry. You will find here many faculty members and students who have already done short- and long-term missions work around the globe. I look forward to meet both of you on campus.

Leave a Reply

