being known.

March 15, 2008

In my head this was going to be a longer and more developed blog but for now, just some thoughts.

I recently went through a situation that hurt me and I was a bit caught off guard by how much it hurt. As I played the moments over in my mind it finally dawned on me. The other people didn’t know me like I thought they did. This was no fault of their own, just the fact of the matter. After the painful situation was over I went home to James and felt so safe. James knows me. He knows me, understands me, and still loves me. I don’t know if there’s anything better than that or anything greater you can ask for in a spouse.

This happened a couple of weeks ago so it’s been on my mind quite a bit. Last Friday in chapel (which is essentially a lame affair but was quite good on this occassion) I had one of those really honest worship times. It’s hard to describe but the word honest is what comes to mind. In the process I was thinking about how God knows us. This is one of those facts you learn early on in the faith but it really struck me anew or maybe for the first time. While I usually thought of this concept in a somewhat fearful way I found myself being so thankful. He knows me with a depth that no one else can. God is the ultimate safe place. He is able both to know us, love us, and see Jesus upon us.

Yesterday in class Dr. Snyder was talking about people being immaterial and material and said something to the effect of, “God can know us in a way that no one else can.” Tears sprung to my eyes right there in class (not big huge drippy tears, little ones that don’t fall although it’s not beyond me to cry unexpectantly.) I know I’m not saying this eloquently but it’s just one of the things that I love most about God lately and I’ve been reminded of it often. He loves us. He’s a safe place for us. He knows us. Wow.

On another note, I covet your prayers for our upcoming visit to the Dominican Republic. For those of you that don’t know, my best friend Kristen and her husband Miguel live there as a missionaries. They’ve been there for almost two years now and we’ve never visited. We’re going from Sunday to Thursday and are really looking forward to some good fellowship. We’ll get to meet their new baby, see where they live, and see the ministries that they’ve been investing in. Mostly I’m just excited about being with my good friend. Again, so good to be with people that know you. Please pray for our safety and my anxiety. I’m a little afraid of flying! Blessings to all of you!

One Response to “being known.”

  1. Magen said

    so well said (even though you were unsure of yourself)…and have no fear about flying (easier said than done). I am terrified of flying to, but I rest in the arms of my dear Savior! We will be praying for a safe and fruitful trip…and maybe some rest time too! Hope y’all are doing well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

