Sick.

February 18, 2008

A few years ago, the fall after James and I got married, I got sick. I had mono for six months. I spent most of my time in bed or in an armchair at Barnes and Noble where I read books without buying them. (Incidentally, I got lice from one of those comfy BN chairs but that’s another story.) I was so sick I had to drop out of Samford and I couldn’t work. I just laid around all the time. I spent all my time resting. I was bored and depressed. Here’s the funny part. I had spent the two years before that living in Philadelphia doing ministry full time. While the second year was more office type ministry it was draining nonetheless. I was exhausted. Just before I got sick James and I spent six weeks in Mexico leading a team of seven girls on work crew. Again, I was exhausted. I spent so much time praying that God would give me rest. Then I got mono.

Today I was sent home for the second day in a row for being too sick to work. Since Thursday, if I haven’t been in class or at Banana, I’ve been in bed. It looks like I’ll be in bed for the next couple of days also. Are you ready for this? I’ve been praying for rest like crazy. These past few weeks have been pretty stressful and I’ve been having a lot of trouble sleeping.  Then I got sick. I’ve slept so much these past few days. So, I prayed for rest and then I got sick. Hmm.

Make what you will of all this but for now I think I’ve learned a few things. I don’t know how to pace myself. Sickness is the only thing that will get me to slow down. God knows me really well. So, I’ve canceled a couple things for the next few days and I’m going to rest, really rest. The only thing on my agenda is for me to figure out how to pace myself on my assignments. I’d like for the next time I take a little rest to not involve sneezing and coughing an a fever. That’d be sweet.

Leave a Reply

