Wide awake way too late.

January 30, 2008

Well, it’s midnight and I’m wide awake…again. I know that probably doesn’t sound late to a lot of y’all but James and I are 10pm in bed kind of folk, even on the weekends. The past week I haven’t been able to get to sleep as easily. As a counseling girl I know that it has to do with my anxiety levels. When I was in counseling I really could tell a difference in how quickly I could fall asleep. My being up right now tells me that my body is stressed.

For all the peace I had a week ago, much of it has gone out the window. I had been having a pretty bad toothache and it had gotten to the unbearable stage last Tuesday so on Wednesday I went and saw the dentist. Long story short, I went in at 8am for a cleaning and left at 11am with a root canal. When the dentist explained my options for my tooth he said that the root canal would cost about $35o. It turned out to be more like $500. We didn’t have the $350 to begin with.

Well, I say that, but we did. We have an emergency fund. I hate spending it though. I feel guilty, like I cost a lot of money to keep up without a whole lot of contribution. Not to mention my toothache came back with vengeance a couple days later. It’s gone now but I was really freaking out thinking I hadn’t even needed the $500 procedure.

Besides that, classes have begun and I have the inevitable syllabus shock. I’m taking five classes with only two really challenging courses in the mix. The only problem is that three of the classes have something due every single class. It’s retarded. They aren’t hard assignments but they do take time. I haven’t been feeling a lot of stress about it but, like I said, my body is telling me I’m stressed.

For the moment, I’m just trying to hang onto the Lord. I know he is with me and I know he is my greatest advocate. He’s on my side and wanting to get me through this in a way that brings him glory. I don’t mean to sound overly spiritual, that really is what’s in my heart right now.

Well, thanks for reading my midnight ramblings. Since I’m still not tired I suppose I’ll work on one of those simple yet time consuming assignments I was just griping about.

4 Responses to “Wide awake way too late.”

  1. Magen said

    Completely understand all that you are feeling…ever situation whether it be not having the money for the root canal or the time comsuming assignments, I have been there and done that…I am still going through it just with different situations (no sleep has hit me for some reason recently). Cling to the Lord…

  2. d$ said

    From the time I was 10 to about 23 or so, my family couldnt afford to go to the dentist… when i finally went, i had to have two back teeth pulled, and a root canal on one of them. This chick, Rebecca, who was in my sunday school class and was one of my only friends in Bham at the time, took me to the dentist to have it all done (cause i couldnt drive obviously)… she took me home and walked me to my couch. I professed my crush on her in my dazed stupor. She laughed. Not good times. Bad times indeed. Not sure why I told you all this.

  3. Amy said

    Jess, ugh. No sleep can really make a person think and do weird things. Like crying for no reason when you aren’t a big crier. Uh-hummm…me this morning. I went to bed at 11 (because I wasn’t tired yet) and woke at 1:30 only to lay in bed until 3:30 (when Sophie woke up to eat) and then finally fell asleep at around 5 (only to wake at 6:50 to feed Sophie at 7AM…and then she didn’t really want to eat). I was mad. I feel out-of-sorts without sleep. Overly anxious. I just know how you feel. I’m so sorry you are having trouble sleeping.

  4. that girl said

    blah blah blah, I call everyday, blah blah blah.

Leave a Reply

