Another Semester Begins

January 22, 2008

I heart Billy Madison. It’s been far too long since I’ve seen it.

My first class of the spring semester is today. I’m pretty excited about it. It’s theology seminar with Mr. Malick and the topic is women in the early church. By the end of the class I’ll probably be calling semesters ovesters. (Legally Blonde anyone?) Mr. Malick is quite the advocate for women in the church and has really had a large impact on my own confidence in the classroom. Besides, he’s adorable. It should be a fun class.

I’m also taking intro to research and statistics. There are only two of us in this class but I think it’s going to be neat because we’re going to work on publishing one of the last two surveys that the class has given. Woohoo for my name on something published. Then there’s intro to marriage and family counseling, principles and practices of discipling and theology 2. I’m going to try to work about fifteen to twenty hours a week.

I’m feeling surprisingly at ease about this semester. For as long as I can remember the night before school starts back after a break I usually have a lot of anxiety and DREAD the next day. Today I just feel like it’s another day. This semester I think I’m really going to have to take it one day at a time. I’m only taking thirteen hours and I think a couple of my classes will be easy but I can never be sure. Like I said, one day at a time. We’ll see how I’m feeling this time next week once I’ve seen all of my syllabuses. (yes, I spelled that right. Wikipedia says syllabi is a hypercorrection…whatever that means).

By the way, I’m watching the oscar nominations and Juno got three nods…best picture, best original screenplay, and best actress in a leading roll. I think it really deserves the latter two and maybe even the first.

Ok, I’m off. Topics to come: Why are there so many specialty versions of the bible? and Wow, has it really been four years James?

2 Responses to “Another Semester Begins”

  1. ashley said

    i like reading your blog.
    well done.
    you’re so creative!

  2. James said

    1. You should convince your school to let you graduate in 12 weeks, or you can challenge me to an academic decathalon.

    b. It’s only been 3 years, 11 months, 27 days. Only 46 years to go to meet our goal!

    iii. We watch too many movies.

Leave a Reply

