January 9, 2008

Life has been a bit of a whirlwind ever since I got back from ETS. I guess I survived finals. I haven’t gone to get my grades. I guess I’m a little worried. I figure, if my classes didn’t turn out how I’m hoping, why find out before I have to? Also, I haven’t really had time to think about it. The week after classes I worked a ton of hours at Edgar’s, it was my last week there so I wanted to make sure I got one last big paycheck. Then James and I went to Florida for six days and to my dad’s for two. That was a lot of fun but it was lots of driving and a long time away from our bed. We were glad to get home and get some rest.

Over the holidays James and I learned that my family would no longer be able to pay for my tuition starting right now. I was pretty panicked. I mean, I’m already a few years behind on the whole schooling thing and I still want to pursue grad school. The thought of taking a semester off or not finishing just made me feel sick. I’m really fortunate to have a supportive husband. He assured me that we would make it work. We’ve got some money in savings that was originally placed there for grad school so that will help. We’ll take out loans and I’ll take a lighter load this spring and pick up as many hours as I can at work.

Oh, work! I have a new job. I was really concerned about finding a new job. Had I known that we would be paying for school I would have never quit Edgar’s, at least not before finding another job. (I can’t remember if I’ve written about how horrible it was to work there but it was.) I knew I would look for a job in retail but I was really concerned that no one would be hiring since most places do a lot of hiring before Christmas. It actually turned out pretty amazing. January 2nd was my first day to really start looking. I called every place at the Summit to find out who was hiring and I planned on going to pick up applications on the 3rd. The girl I spoke with at Banana Republic told me that their applications were online and that even though they weren’t really doing any hiring I should find one out. I decided to go ahead and do that and I saw that the galleria store was hiring. I put in an application there and heard back that afternoon. I interviewed at 10 on the third, came back at 12 for training and have worked every day since. I’m looking forward to having the next three days off. As thankful as I am for the job, my feet are killing me and I need some time to get new shoes for the job. Even though I stood up all day at Edgar’s I was in ugly shoes and it didn’t matter. My shoes need to look decent at Banana and all my decent shoes kill my feet! Yesterday at work I stopped in the middle of my shift and bought some slippers that were on sale. My feet just could not take it anymore! Anyhow, I’m pumped about Banana. If you didn’t already know this about me, I have a mild obsession with their clothes. The discount is unbelievable and I cannot wait to start using it!

On a more serious note, this is a big change for us. Ever since we moved to Alabama, we haven’t depended on my income. While I worked most semesters I always knew that if it got too rough I could cut back on hours and it wouldn’t hurt us. It’s not bad, I know everyone does it, but it’s just different. While I’m a little nervous about being able to keep up with school a part of it feels really good. I guess it’s just nice to know that at the end of the day, James and I are ok financially and we can make it work. It’s nice.

Well, that’s all for now. I’m off to a mega session at the gym. There’s a Project Runway marathon on which means I’ll work out longer and I need to! I haven’t gone to the gym regularly in a while.

Oh, before I forget. You should go see Juno. James and I both loved it. It’s hilarious and heartfelt. I’ll definitely see this one again!

2 Responses to “”

  1. Deena said

    JUNO is definitely AMAAAAAZING!

  2. ashley said

    i agree, juno is great!

    wow, thats a lot of changes, jessica! i can see how that would be a scary/nervous place to be. thanks for sharing your thoughts and perspective on it. i hope you have a great semester! atleast no more edgars!

    i go to the galleria a lot on my lunch break to walk around, i may stop by and see if you’re working sometime.

Leave a Reply

