I wrote this a few days ago so here it is…

September 9, 2007

This feels like a good morning. I’m sleepy, so sleepy but relaxed. James is working on a project this morning and during the coming week that has him leaving for work around 5:45. The idea was that I would go back to sleep after he left but I don’t think that’s going to happen. It’s ok though. Even though I have a hard time getting up in the morning I really like being up early. I like how quiet things are. I especially like it when I go out early in the morning. Like this morning, it’s 6:50 and I’m at Starbucks. I’m enjoying a Pumpkin Spice Latte, which is quite tasty and watching the people come in for their morning fix. I’m here to work on a paper that I really need to finish today. I love that I can sit at Starbucks for hours and work. It’s usually quiet and I can people watch and sometimes I get a visit from Deena, my favorite Starbucks 280 employee. She’s a recent grad of Southeastern and she is fabulous. She’s not here this morning, so that’s sad.

 

I haven’t blogged since classes started back for one major reason. This semester is really different in a lot of ways. I’m not as excited about my classes and this is really sad. I love school. I love learning and I love working hard. I’ve only got one Bible class this semester and it will be a challenging class but I know I’ll learn a lot. I have one other hard class that is really kind of frustrating because it’s challenging but it’s not a subject I care about so I’m not as invested. I know, that’s what normal college is like, but I’m spoiled. My counseling classes are good but their not normal classes. They’re different. Also, I have one class I HATE. AHH! I hate it. I have a terrible attitude about it. I’m not used to this. So, suffice it to say, my classes are different this semester and that means change and change is always hard.

 

Also, my time is stretched differently right now. I’m taking a lot of classes and many of them have assignments do every class so I’m spending a lot more time doing small tasks that are really time consuming. Since I’m also working this ends up meaning that James and I have less time together, especially on the weekends. We’re ok, we really are. But, we’re just used to having more time together, so it’s an adjustment.

 

Finally, my weekly Bible study is changing. This isn’t necessarily for the worse but it’s different. I’ve been leading a Bible study with the same group of girls for two years and over time two new girls have come in. Now, they are the only ones that come. I love them and really enjoy spending time with them. But, it just means change. I’ll do things differently. Again, change is just hard even if it’s for the best.

 

So, things really aren’t bad right now. They’re just different. I’m having a hard time adjusting but I will eventually. And really, look how blessed I am. I have a school that I love and that has made me love learning. I have a husband who I want to spend time with. And I have two new friends that I’ve built real friendships with. Good times.

4 Responses to “I wrote this a few days ago so here it is…”

  1. I understand “change” I have had alot of that lately and it is difficult. I am having a hard time adjusting to going to work every day and not having the flexability of being in college. I think I am so excited about sharing Christ in France, I forget about the here and now and my opportunity to share Christ where i live. I will be in prayer for you, and maybe one moring I could join you at Starbucks and see my favorite employee too!!! Have a good day!

  2. J0E said

    Hi there U 2,

    How are things going? What other institutions have you guys considered? Is James also looking into a counseling program or some other program at Denver Seminary? There are certainly other CACREP accredited programs for counseling if that a major concern for you guys. http://www.cacrep.org/ The site lists the schools participating in their organization.

    If you don’t mind reviewing the theology and Bible you have already taken, then DS will be ok. However, they use Integrative Theology (Lewis & Demarest) which, has not been updated in some time with exception of combining 3 separate volumes into one. There are better theology texts such as Erikson, Grudem etc. If you do decide to attend DS, make sure you inquire about advanced standing and the possibility of testing out of some of the core class requirements. Depending on which program you choose, the training and mentoring requirements can be quite tedious and cumbersome. Make sure you have a contact or contacts in Denver to find mentors prior to starting the training and mentoring program or you will be scrambling to find mentors to meet the requirements. Of course, the expectation is that students will find a church prior to starting the training and mentoring sequence. It can be difficult to find mentors if you are new to the area and do not know anyone.

    The concept of mentoring is certainly biblical, but DS has made it into an exercise in documentation and metrics. The human soul is not quantifiable. Training and mentoring, on average, is 5 credit hours of one’s total degree program. Students are required to write learning contracts subject to approval by a given training center director. The student then meets with a mentor(s), keeps track of several areas including knowledge, attitudes, relationships and some other category, keeps a “time card” of how much time was spent in each category. At the end of the semester, the student turns in their “time card” and an integrative summary of what was learned and all of these assignments have strict deadlines. Every other semester students are required to have a mentor team meeting consisting of the mentor or mentors, training center director, faculty advisor in order to check the spritual formation progress of the student. Arranging these meetings can be difficult and frustrating because students are only ones with a vested interest in meeting, that is, they have to.

    Keep in mind that DS has shifted its focus to numbers and dollars and this is evidenced by the way the programs are set up to push students through in a relatively short amount of time (4-5 semesters for MA’s and 6-8 semesters for M.Div’s). Of course, a student can take longer to get a degree, but the student will be charged more for taking fewer credit hours and tuition continues to increase every semester. There is no suggestion box to be found anywhere on campus.

    Yet, the number of adjunct professors also rises and there seems to be a high rate of employee turnover for an institution such as this. The students services side of the school has been understaffed for several years now. There is one person for financial aid for approximately 900 students. Not all students need financial aid, but there should be more people staffing the FA office. The current financial aid person is less than professional in conduct. It has the potential to be a good institution if they would “clean house”, charge less, truly listen to students, have a clear identity, dispense with the business model, and focus on Christ.

  3. James said

    Joe, you seem to have an intimate knowledge of Denver Seminary. Did you go there/teach there/teach at a different seminary? You have some intense opinions about DS and I’m wondering where those come from.

  4. J0E said

    Hi James,

    How are you doing? Yes, I did attend DS and even worked there. I just want people to be able to make an informed decision about the institution. Often times the public relations side of an instiituion does not deal with the “not nice things.” It helps to know what to expect before entering into such an undertaking as seminary. As you are aware, it is large investment of time, money and life.

Leave a Reply

