I am a narrative.

March 14, 2007

I had this thought rattling around in my head about a month ago and I really wanted to write about it but I kept forgetting.  God did some things that confused me in January. It got me thinking about Moses. More specifically, I started thinking about narrative scriptures. Narrative scripture is unique because it doesn’t just come out and say what we should be learning about God. Instead we have to read the story and learn about who God is based on His interaction with the characters.

Often we talk about showing people who God is through our lives. By this we don’t mean that they should watch how God is interacting with us but rather we mean that they should look at how joyful we are and what good things we do and how servanthearted we are. Sometimes I wonder what message this sends. God is a do-gooder. God is abnormally happy. God puts himself last. I suppose genuine Christlikeness is a beautiful thing and will draw people to God but I think a lot of times we’re faking it. We guess what Jesus would do. But I digress.

Anyhow, lately I’ve been trying to look at my life and the lives of others around me like they are biblical narratives. What can I learn about God by how he is interacting with me. How is God describing himself as he speaks to me? What about when he blesses me? What about when something bad happens? Now, don’t get me wrong, I don’t think of my life as inspired but I do think there is something to this.

It also makes me approach the narratives a bit less intimidated. I’m remembering that these were real people with real emotions and real hardships. I try to put myself in their shoes. Well, thanks for reading. I feel my blogs have been lacking lately but I hope you have grace. Blessings!

One Response to “I am a narrative.”

  1. Chief said

    I think that sometimes it’s too easy to fall into the trap of worshiping the bible rather than the God that it’s about. I’ve spent too much time reading the bible to learn about God’s works, but what’s much more helpful to me is studying it to learn about God’s character. I can then use that as a filter for what God speaks to me directly. Does what I’m hearing line up with what I know His character to be?

    I sincerely wish that people would see the greatness of God when they look at my life, but I know that it’s not something “I” do. Rather is has to be something he does through me. When I look at the times when I’m “faking it” it’s when I’m least Christlike. I do agree that we could do with a little dose of realism in the church. We fake it because it’s not ok to not be Christlike at every moment. But I also digress.

    Keep bringing on the deep blogs; i know that “meat” is appetizing to readers at all levels.

Leave a Reply

